Archive for January 16th, 2010

h1

WHY? WHY? WHY?

January 16, 2010

WHY?  WHY?  WHY? 

By Lorraine Cyr 

Why?

 

We all have things that we do that are done that way just because it was the way mom did it.  But if we stop and think about it we might find a better way to do it.  Here is my story: 

Every year the family would get together for Thanksgiving dinner and as a small child I would watch my mom cut the last 3 or 4 inches off the back side of the ham before she would cook it.  Once I was married and it was my turn to cook the ham, my husband happened to be in the kitchen as I struggled to cut through the ham bone and asked what I was doing.  I said that this was how my mom taught me to cook a ham.  He laughed so hard and said that my mom was crazy.  

 After I cooled off I called mom to find out why she cut the back end off the ham.  Her reply was “because my mom did it”  My next call was to my grandmother and her answer was “I cut the end off the ham so it would fit in the pan” 

The point of the story is that if we stop and ask ourselves why we do things from habit or “just because” we might save ourselves time and money.  At Lorraine Cyr Management we teach our Property Managers to ask “why?” when an Association tells us how to do something.  Then once we understand the “why” we look to see if it makes sense and if it can be done better.

